Author Topic: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games  (Read 10868 times)

Asukachan

  • VIPER Animator
  • Serious VIPER Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・VIPER-CTR, VIPER-F40
    • Now Playing:
      ・Popful Mail (Sega CD)
    • VIPER ANIMATION Blog
Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« on: January 10, 2011, 09:19:50 pm »
Is there a way to just open the game without going to this screen first? Just wondering

JG

  • Karin-chan Fan
  • Website Administrator
  • Hardcore VIPER Otaku
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,497
  • Karma: +85/-4
  • 3000 posts of rediculousness and counting
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・Gokuraku VIPER Paradice
    • Now Playing:
      ・Metroid Prime Remastered
    • Sogna Digital Museum
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2011, 08:43:45 am »
Launch the game with the Typing EXE - it's a standalone SGS driver without the install check.

It'll work for most games, but M5, RSR (both versions), and GTS Limited Edition use newer opcodes not in Typing.  (For that reason I'd like to hack the GTS Limited Edition SGS.EXE to skip the install check, but haven't made it a priority. I intend to look into it after I've finished my SGS tool set suite.)

And the sound may be funny as PCM samples in older games will play at double speed in the Typing driver, due to the change from 8 bit samples to 16 bit samples in GTB and later games. (Again, something I'd like to hack the GTS LE driver to support.)


You can also set up a .bat file that calls SGS.EXE and passes the keyword as an argument, in the same fashion as the V16 International versions.  The keyword will vary depending on the game though.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 08:47:45 am by JG00 »

黒い灯影

  • Mr. Monkey in the moon
  • Forum Administrator
  • Ambassador of VIPER Knowledge
  • *******
  • Posts: 626
  • Karma: +42/-1
  • Unleashing the monkey inside!!
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・VIPER-RSR
    • Now Playing:
      ・Viper RSR
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2011, 12:23:32 am »
I think i could probably do that.. CD-check or the alike..usually very simple hacks.

but than again, it would take a while, since i'm busy booked with my video business til next Sunday...
BlackShadow

JG

  • Karin-chan Fan
  • Website Administrator
  • Hardcore VIPER Otaku
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,497
  • Karma: +85/-4
  • 3000 posts of rediculousness and counting
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・Gokuraku VIPER Paradice
    • Now Playing:
      ・Metroid Prime Remastered
    • Sogna Digital Museum
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2011, 07:40:50 am »
This is the full list of things I'd like to be able to hack in the GTS LE SGS.EXE.  I'm looking into them over the weekend.

Must-haves:
1 - Be able to disable the install check outright.
2 - Modify the opcode table to enable/disable existing opcodes
3 - Be able to specify which PCM format to apply.
4 - Be able to specify the registry key path.
5 - Apply the proper checksum to the EXE based on other changes.

Would-like-to-haves:
6 - Be able to modify the install check to support different passkeys.
7 - Enable/disable the unknown opcode message (such that unknown opcodes will work like a NOP instead of a STOP)
8 - Change the program icon, title, and properties.

黒い灯影

  • Mr. Monkey in the moon
  • Forum Administrator
  • Ambassador of VIPER Knowledge
  • *******
  • Posts: 626
  • Karma: +42/-1
  • Unleashing the monkey inside!!
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・VIPER-RSR
    • Now Playing:
      ・Viper RSR
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2011, 05:30:04 pm »
This is the full list of things I'd like to be able to hack in the GTS LE SGS.EXE.  I'm looking into them over the weekend.

Must-haves:
1 - Be able to disable the install check outright.
2 - Modify the opcode table to enable/disable existing opcodes
3 - Be able to specify which PCM format to apply.
4 - Be able to specify the registry key path.
5 - Apply the proper checksum to the EXE based on other changes.

Would-like-to-haves:
6 - Be able to modify the install check to support different passkeys.
7 - Enable/disable the unknown opcode message (such that unknown opcodes will work like a NOP instead of a STOP)
8 - Change the program icon, title, and properties.

I remember I did 3 on RSR's SGS once... all the audio was playing at 1/2 the speed.
BlackShadow

JG

  • Karin-chan Fan
  • Website Administrator
  • Hardcore VIPER Otaku
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,497
  • Karma: +85/-4
  • 3000 posts of rediculousness and counting
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・Gokuraku VIPER Paradice
    • Now Playing:
      ・Metroid Prime Remastered
    • Sogna Digital Museum
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2011, 10:10:32 am »
Eureka moment!

I've just solved the most difficult of the above items, number 3.  It took some work but I finally managed to write an assembly function that converts the older audio format (8bit mono) to the newer audio format (stored as 16bit mono, but then expanded/duplicated so that it plays on two channels like stereo) on the fly.  I'm able to play V6 audio at regular speed without static using a modified RSR-DVD EXE now. (I decided to use RSR-DVD instead of GTS LE since it was produced later and may have fixed minor bugs present in GTS LE.)

Thus, numbers 1 and 3 are solved.  5 I have also confirmed is not neccesary for EXEs (only for DLLs and strongly named programs, which SGS.EXE is not); the current checksum is zero and I can keep it as such.

This leaves 2 and 4 which are both relatively easy, as are 6 and 7.  8 is potentially a little more challenging but easier than the audio work.

I'm also considering a number 9 - modify the menu to enable/disable language options.  This could be tough as the later games that support all opcodes (GTS LE, RSR-DVD) only support options for Japanese, English, and Italian, leaving out the Spanish and German options the international versions possessed.  I know it will require the following at least:
a) Modify the SGSMENU class to add Spanish and German menu options (which I think includes the code pointers to jump to when selected) - possibly add other options as well.
b) Add code to handle the new menu options (which would just duplicate the functionality of the Japanese, English, and Italian functions)
c) Add the text script filename in the ASCII strings section of code (text.jp, text.us, and text.it are already defined.)

Asukachan

  • VIPER Animator
  • Serious VIPER Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・VIPER-CTR, VIPER-F40
    • Now Playing:
      ・Popful Mail (Sega CD)
    • VIPER ANIMATION Blog
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 11:33:05 pm »
the main reason I asked this question is because (After I finish CCR of course)I basically want to build a basic PC in a small case with a Playstation-style top loading disc tray that'll connect to my TV and play all my viper games. Ive already figured out how to completely hide Windows and boot directly into a game thats been inserted into the tray, but I need some kind of batch file or something that can bring up any Viper game I have inserted regardless of the name. I thought maybe since all the games have the SGS with the same name, it could work. I hope you guys understand this as it was kind of hard to explain.

JG

  • Karin-chan Fan
  • Website Administrator
  • Hardcore VIPER Otaku
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,497
  • Karma: +85/-4
  • 3000 posts of rediculousness and counting
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・Gokuraku VIPER Paradice
    • Now Playing:
      ・Metroid Prime Remastered
    • Sogna Digital Museum
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2011, 07:39:50 am »
You mean like autorun for CDs?

Basically you need every game disc to have the same starting file, be it autorun.bat or a patched SGS.exe.

Asukachan

  • VIPER Animator
  • Serious VIPER Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・VIPER-CTR, VIPER-F40
    • Now Playing:
      ・Popful Mail (Sega CD)
    • VIPER ANIMATION Blog
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2011, 02:53:45 pm »
Quote
You mean like autorun for CDs?
not really
basically, what Im doing is bypassing windows explorer on bootup and through the use of a program autorunning a particular file that I specify. In this case a file on my hard drive that can run any VIPER game thats inserted in the tray. Maybe just a file that can trigger the actual autorun on the game disc. I dont know if this can work or not, but if it cant I'll just boot into a front end that can load from the CD drive that I select after boot.

JG

  • Karin-chan Fan
  • Website Administrator
  • Hardcore VIPER Otaku
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,497
  • Karma: +85/-4
  • 3000 posts of rediculousness and counting
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・Gokuraku VIPER Paradice
    • Now Playing:
      ・Metroid Prime Remastered
    • Sogna Digital Museum
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2011, 07:32:56 pm »
You'd probably want to skip the default autorun program for VIPER games that asks for Play/Install/Uninstall and go right to the game.

So it sounds like you'd want a .bat file that has the following command:
D:\SGS.exe Rghmnat


Bonus Info: What is "Rghmnat"?
Its the encoded form of Shinobu (all ASCII characters decreased by one codepoint), the programmer for SGS who used his handle as the password for SGS.exe.  All SGS-based Windows VIPER games except Typing are protected with this password, though my custom versions of SGS can use a different password or go unprotected.

Asukachan

  • VIPER Animator
  • Serious VIPER Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • Favorite Sogna Game:
      ・VIPER-CTR, VIPER-F40
    • Now Playing:
      ・Popful Mail (Sega CD)
    • VIPER ANIMATION Blog
Re: Skipping the play/install/quit screen in Viper games
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2011, 09:14:48 pm »
hmmm. It loads up the SGS but, it still gives and error. Are you sure that the passcode is right?